In Koha each bibliographic record can have one or more items attached. These items are sometimes referred to as holdings. Each item includes information to the physical copy the library has.
After saving a new bibliographic record, you will be redirected to a blank item record so that you can attach an item to the bibliographic record. You can also click 'Add Holdings' from the cataloging search results
or you can add new item at any time by clicking 'New' on the bibliographic record and choosing 'New Item'
The item edit form will appear:
At the very least, if you plan on circulating the item, the following fields should be entered for new items:
2 - Source of classification
a - Permanent location
b - Current location
o - Full call number
p - Barcode
v - Cost, replacement price
This value will be charged to patrons when you mark an item they have checked out as 'Lost'
y - Koha item type
Below the add form there are 3 buttons for adding the item
Add Item will add just the one item
Add & Duplicate will add the item and fill in a new form with the same values for your to alter
Add Multiple Copies will ask how many copies and will then add that number of copies adding +1 to the barcode so each barcode is unique
Your added items will appear above the add form once submitted
Your items will also appear below the bibliographic details on the bib record display.
If you have SpineLabelShowPrintOnBibDetails set to 'Display' then there will also be a link to print a quick spine label next to each item.
Items can be edited in several ways.
Clicking 'Edit' and 'Edit Items' from the bibliographic record
Clicking 'Edit Items' beside the item on the 'Items' tab
The edit menu is also where items can be deleted from:
Often circulation staff need to change the status of an item to Lost or Damaged. This doesn't require you to edit the entire item record. Instead clicking on the item barcode on the checkout summary or checkin history will bring you to an item summary. You can also get to the item summary by clicking on the Items tab to the left of the bib detail page.
From this view you can mark an item lost by choosing a lost status from the pull down and clicking the 'Set Status' button.
You can also mark an item as damaged by choosing a damaged status from the pull down and clicking the 'Set Status' button.
Items can be moved from one bibliographic record to another using the Attach Item option
Visit the bibliographic record you want to attach the item to and choose 'Attach Item' from the 'Edit' menu.
Simply enter the barcode for the item you want to move and click 'Select'
If you want to move all items to a new record creating only one bibliographic record you can use the Merge Records tool instead.
There are many ways to delete item records. If you only need to delete one item you can do this by opening up the detail page for the bib record and clicking the 'Edit' button at the top. From there you can choose to 'Edit items'.
You will be presented with a list of items and next to each one will be a link labeled 'Delete'. Click that link and if the item is not checked out it will delete that item.
If you know that all of the items attached to your record are not currently checked out you can use the 'Delete all items' option under the 'Edit menu' and it will remove all items from the record.
Finally you can use the batch delete tool to delete a batch of items.
Each bibliographic record keeps a circulation history (with or without the patron information depending on your settings), but each item also has its own circulation history page. To see this, click on the 'Items' tab to the left of the record you are viewing.
Below the 'History' heading is a link to 'View item's checkout history,' clicking that will open up the item's history which will look slightly different from the bibliographic record's history page.