Chapter 10. Lists & Cart

Table of Contents

1. Lists
1.1. Create a List
1.2. Add to a List
1.3. Viewing Lists
1.4. Merging Bibliographic Records Via Lists
2. Cart

Lists are a way to save a collection of content on a specific topic or for a specific purpose. The Cart is a session specific storage space.

1. Lists

A list can be created by visiting the Lists page and clicking 'New List'

The new list form offers several options for creating your list:

  • The name is what will appear on the list of Lists

  • You can also choose how to sort the list

  • Next decide if your list is going to be private or public

    • A Private List is managed by you and can be seen only by you (depending on your permissions settings below)

    • A Public List can be seen by everybody, but managed only by you (depending on your permissions settings below)

  • Finally decide what your permissions will be on the list. You can all or disallow:

    • anyone else to add entries

    • anyone to remove his own contributed entries

      • Note

        The owner of a list is always allowed to add entries, but needs permission to remove.

    • anyone to remove other contributed entries    

A list can also be created from the catalog search results

  • Check the box to the left of the titles you want to add to the new list

  • Choose [New List] from the 'Add to:' pull down menu

    • Name the list and choose what type of list this is

      • A Private List is managed by you and can be seen only by you

      • A Public List can be seen by everybody, but managed only by you

Once the list is saved it will accessible from the Lists page and from the 'Add to' menu at the top of the search results.

To add titles to an existing list click on the list name from the page of lists

To open a list you can click the list name.

From that page you can add titles by scanning barcodes into the box at the bottom of the page

A title can also be added to a list by selecting titles on the search results page and choosing the list from the 'Add to' menu

To see the contents of a list, visit the Lists page on the staff client

Clicking on the 'List Name' will show the contents of the list

From this list of items you can perform several actions

  • 'New list' will allow you to create another list

  • 'Edit' will allow you to edit the description and permissions for this list

  • 'Send list' will send the list to the email address you enter (view sample List email)

  • 'Download list' will allow you to download the cart using one of 3 default formats or your CSV Profiles

  • 'Print list' will present you with a printable version of the list

Using the filters at the top of each column you can find specific items in your list.

The easiest way to merge together duplicate bibliographic records is to add them to a list and use the Merge Tool from there.

From the list, check the two items you want to merge. If you choose more than or fewer than 2, you will be presented with an error:

Once you have selected the records you want to merge, click the 'Merge selected' button at the top of the list. You will be asked which of the two records you would like to keep as your primary record and which will be deleted after the merge. If the records were created using different frameworks, Koha will also ask you what Framework you would like the newly merged record to use.

You will be presented with the MARC for both of the records (each accessible by tabs labeled with the bib numbers for those records). By default the entire first record will be selected, uncheck the fields you don't want in the final (destination) record and then move on to the second tab to choose which fields should be in the final (destination) record.

Should you try to add a field that is not repeatable two times (like choosing the 245 field from both record #1 and #2) you will be presented with an error

Once you have completed your selections click the 'merge' button. The primary record will now CONTAIN the data you chose for it as well as all of the items/holdings from both bib records, and the second record will be deleted.

Important

It is important to rebuild your zebra index immediately after merging records. If a search is performed for a record which has been deleted Koha will present the patrons with an error in the OPAC.